Black Bottom Cupcakes

Black Bottom Cupcakes

My mother or my grandmother usually make mini black bottoms for the holidays, but this year the little cupcakes slipped through the cracks, and did not make an appearance.  Since they are unique and delicious they are something I had been wanting to try making.  And my friend, Genevieve, gave me an inspiring nudge to make chocolate cupcakes next time, so I decided to give it a go.
Don’t worry Gen, I’ll make you an extra special chocolate cupcake next time I see you.

These cupcakes are best eaten cold out of the fridge.  This enhances the texture by keeping the chocolate chips hard and since they have a cheese cake section it’s a bit necessary.  I also prefer them with mini chocolate chips, but since I didn’t have those I used regular sized chips, which work just fine.  I had also never previously had a full sized black bottom cupcake, and although they are still very good, I think I prefer the small version better.  Maybe it’s more of a nostalgia thing for me, or maybe it’s the way the chocolate cake and the cheesecake parts are in smaller portions and are a bit more intertwined.  Regardless, these are good to eat and easy to make.

Cheese Cake Ingredients:
8 oz. cream cheese (room temp)
1/3 cup sugar
1 large egg (room temp)
1/8 tea salt
1 cup mini chocolate chips

Cupcake Batter Ingredients:
1 1/4 cup flour
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1 tea baking soda
Pinch salt
1 cup water
1 large egg
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 tea vanilla extract (real stuff)
1 tea white vinegar

Oven: 350 degrees, makes about 18 cupcakes

  • Put the cream cheese, sugar, egg and salt in a bowl and mix with the hand mixer until smooth.  Then stir in the chocolate chips.  Set to the side.
  •  In another bowl and using a spoon, mix up the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt.  Set to the side.
  •  In a third bowl (small one), mix the water, egg, vegetable oil, vanilla and vinegar together.  Mix very briefly with the hand mixer until just combined.
  •  Pour liquid mix into the flour mix and using a hand mixer combine until smooth.  It will bubble a little.
  •  Pour into the cupcake papers until about half full.
  •  Spoon in a dollop of cream cheese mix into each one.  It is ok to use a chopstick to swirl it just a little.
  •  Bake for about 25 minutes.  Allow to cool completely and then store in refrigerator.

Black Bottom cupcake

Leave a comment

Leave a comment