Yorkshire Pudding FAIL

December 12, 2013

I am trying to get myself back into action on here.

What better to blog about then my failed attempts, multiple failed attempts to make Yorkshire pudding?

I have tried four times to make it and each time I get just a little closer, but still, fail.  Everyone told me how easy it is.  OH its so easy, its only floud, salt, and milk.  just toss it in the oven, so easy.  with a flap of the hand.

I can bake, so why not, right?  Wrong.

I started out thinking it was the pan.  I used the wrong kind and it wasnt hot enough.

nope.

next I tried a different recipe.

nope.

the third time I was sure to spend a good hour plus googling “troubleshooting Yorkshire pudding” first.  I even read “the science of Yorkshire pudding”.

This helped a lot.

I also made sure I checked my experiation dates (not every bag of flour has one), made sure I had full fat milk, and measured exactly.

My fourth attempt I actually added fat to the pan while it was heating up.  Ah, see the science I read explained how the fat heats to a specific temp to make the such and such react and boom, the batter rises.  Luckily I had some left over por roast in the fridge.  And it was really a lucky thing since I rarely make pot roast or anything like it.

so I picked out the few pieces of fat and put it in the pan, put the pan in the oven, and let it heat up.

The I poured the batter into the sizzling hot pan, and stuck it back in the oven.

and awited.

and guess what, it sort of looked less wrong!  Still not correct, but it did rise in a few spots!  Score!  I think on my 5th attempt I need more fat.  (so gross)  Since I never cook meat, it might be a good while before I attempt this again.

20131212-150558.jpg

20131212-150624.jpg

20131212-150635.jpg

20131212-150716.jpg

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment