Egg Smash

This weekend I was at the Harrisonburg Farmers Market (http://harrisonburgfarmersmarket.com) working my stand and tragedy struck. 

To get the image, you must first understand that it has been really nice out lately, but Saturday morning it was cold and windy.  So I had on tons of layers including my purple carhartt coveralls and jacket, which are super thick and baggy and also, oh so attractive.

During the market I had to slip between two tables in my stand a couple times to get to the sales area and then back into the “operations” area behind the stand.  One of the tables had a cooler sitting on it with eggs inside of it that I was selling.

The tragedy happened during one of my slips between tables.  Picture McDonald’s Grimace trying to fit between two tables placed closely together with fine China stacked precariously on top of them.  My butt caught the cooler, and in what felt like slow motion, knocked it, and CRASH!  Five dozen eggs destroyed in seconds. 

Awesome. 

I am not sure how but I did manage to get my gloves, which I did take off before attempting to clean up the mess, covered in egg. 

I felt bad.  All that work my chickens put into laying those eggs was totally wasted.  And although we did loose 5 dozen eggs, after getting home and cleaning the cooler and eggs out, I did collect two dozen that were still in fine condition and managed to salvage about a dozen that were only cracked that I could fry up for the dogs. 

I almost wish I had taken a photo of the mess before I cleaned it up, but that was not in mind at the time. I did take the two egg photos in this post earlier in the morning, before the egg smashing event.  My chickens sure do lay pretty eggs.  The light blue one is a huge egg.  It’s not just the angle of the camera making it look like that.  My Araucana chicken named Gryffindor laid that egg. 

Leave a comment

Leave a comment